Thinking About the Movies.
2005-10-18/1:03 a.m.

If I had time and/or Luds here these are the movies that I would be seeing:


The Squid and the Whale

The Corpse Bride
Wallace and Gromit
Thumbsucker
The Constant Gardener
Good Night and Good Luck
2046
Shopgirl*
Capote
Flightplan
*though my interest in the book lasted about 5 pages

Holy crap that is a long list! The only thing that I have seen in the past month+ was �In Her Shoes� and I really liked it. I hadn�t read the book or heard anything about the movie going in, but I liked it. I particularly liked that the �love� story was with a goofy, flawed guy and not some perfect movie romance. And all of the old people in it RULED. I also think that Toni Collette rules and bawl like a baby every single time that I watch Muriel�s Wedding, even if I just flip channels and notice that it�s on for like 2 seconds. That movie is heartbreaking.

I just don�t have any time. And I�m not in the mood to spend more alone time right now. I spend 99% of the week isolated from the world, why up the numbers, you know.

Also, in case it looks like all I do is watch tv and talk about movies, I also READ BOOKS. This week I read some chick lit book called Wedding Season that wasn�t that great. I also finally read High Fidelity last week. I loved it. Though there were times where I felt like maybe I was learning TOO much about the inner workings of a 35 year old nerd�s brain. Now I need to find a copy of Fever Pitch and revel in my love of futbol. This week, I am reading the Corrections. Yes, I am late to the party yet again. Whatevers. Unless the book is something like
�Then He Ate My Boy Entrancers,�
my friends probably haven�t read it before me. And I haven�t read that one yet, Kim, so please don�t give away the ending!

You�re probably wondering how it is that I don�t have any time to do anything, yet I read so many books. Well, I read them at the gym, on my lunch breaks and on the subway to work. That adds up to several hours a week it turns out. Hooray for multi-tasking.

I also read this awesome essay by Noah Baumbach (my hero of sorts) called
�my dog is tom cruise,�
and unless you read the New Yorker every week, you didn�t see it and you should do yourself a favor and right that wrong this freaking second. (Kidding, I don�t read that gasbag every week* either, I just happened on an old copy at the gym today and am now pretending to be a snooty New York writer-type)

Movies that I don�t want to see even if time were no object, in no particular order:
Elizabethtown
Elizabethtown
Elizabethtown

Yup, that about wraps that up.

* I had originally put that the New Yorker came out monthly but Mike was quick to point out my error. That guy is a snooty New York writer-type, y'all.








ARCHIVES

A note I found in a drawer.
2012-04-22
The Extra Lens and Adultery.
2011-07-10
Books are beautiful.
2011-06-18
Ira Glass made me feel better about things.
2011-06-02
Something that happened yesterday.
2011-05-28