Superman was not very nice.
2007-02-09/11:49 a.m.

I think it was last year that I first became aware of the old comic covers where Superman was acting like a huge asshole. Then yesterday at work we were watching some Superman cartoons (yes, I have a very difficult job�) and a writer reminded me of them. We watched a cartoon where Superman basically ruined tons of archeological evidence and then congratulated himself after on a job well done.

Well, that was really tame compared to his dickery on the covery of many Lois Lane and Jimmy Olsen comics. In fact, he seems very smug and like he delights in murdering women who have rejected him and kids he has adopted.

One of the best:

And one that had Mike in actual tears:

My friend Rich wonders if the Lois Lane comics only existed to teach girls to go for horrible abusive men. Maybe!

I highly recommend scrolling through the site as I had not laughed so much in a long time. Especially at a website. Because, man, Superman was really a dick.








ARCHIVES

A note I found in a drawer.
2012-04-22
The Extra Lens and Adultery.
2011-07-10
Books are beautiful.
2011-06-18
Ira Glass made me feel better about things.
2011-06-02
Something that happened yesterday.
2011-05-28