Arguing stupid crap, that's where I'm a viking!
2007-06-08/4:15 p.m.

I have been in a very important debate lately. Verrrrrry. Important.

It is about the following quote:
RALPH: Miss Hoover?
MISS HOOVER: Yes Ralph, what is it?
RALPH: My worm went in my mouth and then I ate it. Can I have another one?
MISS HOOVER: No Ralph, there aren't any more. Just try to sleep while the other children are learning.
RALPH: Oh boy, sleep! That's where I'm a Viking!

When Ralph says the last line, why is it funny?

A) because Ralph considers sleep to be something that he excels at?

B) because when Ralph sleeps he dreams of being a viking?

I say A and until last week I had no idea that anyone could feel any differently. What I've learned in the past week or so is that it's about 50/50 split with many people violently rejecting the way that they never thought it was intended. I am completely fascinated.

The most amazing part to me was when I called my sister. My sister! Who I watched the episode with and who I used to quote episodes with for most of my life. When I asked her why it was funny her first answer was "because Ralph is borderline retarded...." and I said "yeah, I know that, but why is the line funny?" That question alone got a big laugh, probably because she was worrying that I was suddenly borderline retarded. I was totally shocked when she then said "it's because when Ralph dreams, he is a viking." NOOOOOOOOOOOO! It can't be.

Mike seems to think that both ways are right and can see it either way. That's good, at least he didn't freak out and tell me that I don't understand comedy or humor (some other people may have done that...). However, he thinks how fascinated I am by this is completely ridiculous. He just gives me pitying looks or brief glances that say "oh lordy, you are crazy" when he thinks I'm not looking.

I now know someone who did some translations for the exchange and it goes:
French = "Dormir, c'est l� que je suis le plus fort" ("Sleep, that's where I'm the best!")
Dutch = "Slapen, daar ben ik goed in" (I don't know any dutch, but I'm guessing that's "Sleep, now that's something I'm good at")

Very interesting. What do you think?








ARCHIVES

A note I found in a drawer.
2012-04-22
The Extra Lens and Adultery.
2011-07-10
Books are beautiful.
2011-06-18
Ira Glass made me feel better about things.
2011-06-02
Something that happened yesterday.
2011-05-28