This year- Day two hundred and thirty six. (Slumdog Millionaire)
2010-02-20/3:18 p.m.

heart

I finally watched Slumdog Millionaire and it was so different than I thought it would be. In my mind I thought it was "fun" and "appropriate for kids" and boy was I wrong. The poster above is part of the problem. Look how happy it looks! What a lie! Feel good movie, my ass.

The movie was depressing and weird and not very good.

You know how when you're watching "Who Wants to be a Millionaire" and the contestant is all "it's B, and I know this because my mom once danced a tango with ritz crackers" and Regis was all "uhh okay" ? That's what this movie is in long drawn out movie form. He'll be asked a question in the millionaire game and you see why he knows the answer in his life. The questions aren't even that difficult, unlike actual millionaire where the questions get much more difficult as the cash prize goes up. In American Millionaire terms it was like "Oh, I know what a gun is because of that time my brother pointed one at me in order to threaten me and then rape my 12 year old girlfriend" and Regis would be all "B, is that your final answer?" It was very... cheesy. And full of rape and blinding and murder.

And yet, as Haley pointed out last night, the movie was boring. For a movie with so much terrible stuff, it was boring. That is nearly impossible and yet they made it happen!

I am still pissed that I was waiting for Bollywood dancing and "fun!" and it never happened... until over the end credits. What a rip off!








ARCHIVES

A note I found in a drawer.
2012-04-22
The Extra Lens and Adultery.
2011-07-10
Books are beautiful.
2011-06-18
Ira Glass made me feel better about things.
2011-06-02
Something that happened yesterday.
2011-05-28