Nine Years Late
2005-09-01/11:15 p.m.


So, I read this book a few weeks ago. I heard a lot about it and think it may have even made a few critic lists. I don�t know. It�s kind of underground, I doubt many of you people would have heard of it being that you are so much less �hip� and tuned in than me. Anyway, I�ll let you in on it and then it can be our little secret.

It�s a little book called �Bridget Jones Diary� and it is a kind of funny look into the mind of a single lady in her 30s.

Oh wait! Everyone in the freaking world already knows about this book because it was like the biggest seller in the world�.. nine years ago. But, seriously, I did read this book a few weeks ago and I�ve gotta say, I was disappointed. This came as a surprise to me since the movie version is actually awesome and I love it and watch it a lot and I don�t care what anyone thinks of that. The book was just not that awesome. One complaint, she bitches about her weight constantly as though she is this huge whale. Yes, a whale�. that weighs 126 pounds. I am surprised that she wasn�t pillaged and murdered for her precious blubber.

Maybe the last nine years of hype killed it for me and back in �96 I would have been guffawing at her every blunder and applauding every time she stands up for herself, but in 2005 I was just bored a lot. Another complaint was that I was amazed at that amount that she drank and smoked. I am not a puritan but I don�t know if there are enough hours in the day to smoke and drink as much as she did.

I would love to talk about this book with friends but unfortunately, most people read it so long ago that they don�t even remember much of it anymore. And then they make fun of me for being such a Johnny come-lately. To make matters worse, I actually had already read the sequel. Yes, I am a ridiculous person.

Next I plan on checking out this new fad I�ve been hearing that kids love so much called �the rap music� and getting into a hot new dance called the Charleston.








ARCHIVES

A note I found in a drawer.
2012-04-22
The Extra Lens and Adultery.
2011-07-10
Books are beautiful.
2011-06-18
Ira Glass made me feel better about things.
2011-06-02
Something that happened yesterday.
2011-05-28