My Weekend (of tv and internetting)
2005-09-19/3:29 p.m.

Last night at 1am when I was putting off putting away my laundry and putting the clean sheets on the bed, I ran across something amazing on the internets (yet another lesson that procrastination pays). It is this amazing remake of Devo�s �Whip It� video made by a class of 5th graders in Minnesota. I love it so much I can�t stand it. Look at them making bad ass faces! The girl stirring things in the fake window rules. The fact that any 5th grader anywhere actually chose to do a Devo song warms my heart. And the fact that this was a class project and that a teacher promoted this is so amazing that I am considering moving into her district in the event that I have children.

And then, because I am years behind in my funny internet videos, someone showed me this cartoon of He-Man doing that 4 Non Blondes song that everyone knows so don�t pretend that you don�t, and I laughed til I cried (particularly at the IM conversation segment).


I had the day off yesterday and that was awesome. I got some laundry done and I cleaned up the house some and got my old computer ready for Jackie. The best though was catching up on my Laguna Beaches and my Super Sweet 16s. While I love Laguna Beach, I actually hate My Super Sweet 16. Yet, I am just as psyched when either of them has a marathon- I am a mystery to even myself.

The most awful person viewed yesterday was Sophie - the chubby girl in Florida who had a $180k party and bitched the whole time. She also had no problem telling her mom off all the time, in front of anyone and then laughing about what a push over her lame mom was. And her mom is a veterinarian , she must be a vet to the stars or something because they had a huge mansion, and she dropped 180k like it was nothing. I fear for what this girl will be like when she is an adult.

Laguna Beach keeps getting better. That Jason guy is clearly a guy to mess around with but not date. As soon as he dumped Jessica he started calling her all the time, hanging out with her and being nice- all things that he did not do when they were together. Or, he may just be a boy who wants what he doesn�t have. Either way, it looks like tonight that manly Alex takes it out on Jessica. I hate that. I hate when a boy cheats and the girl blames the other girl. I actually taped the Tyra show today just because it is about this topic. (Actually the guide said this �Couple in crisis; Flattering Jeans� and those both sound appealing!) Also, how does Jason get girls at all? I can�t see one good thing about him- someone clue me in. Stephen clearly can�t get enough of the cameras- who the heck comes home from college every weekend?? Get a life, Stephen. Also, LC�s life just seems depressing now. She has nothing to do, no college, no job and everyone else is back at school or working and she�s just hanging out, often with high school students. Talk about a worst nightmare.

I also finally watched my taped OC from last week and it RULED. Who is this new Dean? I hate that guy! Who is this Taylor girl? I hate her! (anyone else think that the Dean and Taylor are connected somehow?) What school kicks people out who were sexually assaulted? That sends a bad message to victims!


Ooh, and Mike has been talking about Veronica Mars so I caught some of it a few weeks ago (summer repeats) and then the season finale last night. I was riveted to the screen and totally on the edge of my seat. It is awesome to see such a strong female lead who isn�t somehow blessed with super powers. Now I have another show to watch. There just aren�t enough hours in the day for all the tv that I need to watch. (this poll is pretty sweet because it just goes to show that most people were totally wrong about who the killer was- good job mystery writers)








ARCHIVES

A note I found in a drawer.
2012-04-22
The Extra Lens and Adultery.
2011-07-10
Books are beautiful.
2011-06-18
Ira Glass made me feel better about things.
2011-06-02
Something that happened yesterday.
2011-05-28