I am addicted.
2006-02-04/5:04 p.m.

I have a few addictions. Just your run of the mill stuff like biting my fingernails and watching the OC etc... nothing too crazy.

That is, until my internet went out last Friday. Holy crap, I thought I might die. Number 1, that meant almost an entire weekend with no internet. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO. Number 2, none of the wireless that I can sometimes steal was coming through either. It was horrible.

I had plenty of things to do off of the computer, like laundry and house cleaning, yet I found myself sitting for hours, checking and rechecking my internet connection. It was pathetic.

Now, I have a slight teeny excuse. I actually do freelance work that means that I work from home fairly often. No internet, meant not really getting that work done. That's a big deal.

Unfortunately, it wasn't the reason that I was panicking. The internet has apparently become my best friend. When? I have no idea. I didn't even used to care about it much. Mike and I were together for a while before I even bothered emailing him, because email was something I used for job searching and friends who were out of town. Man, how things have changed.

Now it's like I don't talk to anyone in real life anymore. If you work with me and we are sitting in the same room, I will email you something if I want to talk to you. If you are my friend and you're a 5 minute walk away- I will email you instead of talking to you in person. It sounds pretty awful, when I write it all out like this, but it really just came naturally.

In the last few weeks I also signed up with myspace. Kim talked me into it so that we could get info on shows ahead of time (the last Jenny Lewis show was brought up) and now I'm into that. In January I got a flickr account. I am already on Friendster, and have about 4 email addresses that I check daily. I am slowly becoming a web persona instead of a real person.

Soon the computer is going to suck me in Tron-style and I will never be apart from the sweet computer juices running through my veins. And that will be a glorious day.

Now, back to stealing some wireless and basking in the glow of the sweet sweet internet.








ARCHIVES

A note I found in a drawer.
2012-04-22
The Extra Lens and Adultery.
2011-07-10
Books are beautiful.
2011-06-18
Ira Glass made me feel better about things.
2011-06-02
Something that happened yesterday.
2011-05-28